An Easter Surprise

Happy Easter!

When I was a little girl Easter always meant surprises which included waking up on Easter morning to a basket filled with chocolate eggs and jelly beans. There would always be a pretty new frilly dress with shiny new shoes for church and brightly decorated eggs which were carefully hidden by my parents. Easter afternoons included a trip to the herring run here on Cape Cod and the first family softball game of the season in our backyard while my dad rototilled his vegetable garden.

MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®
MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®
MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®
MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®

The tradition continued this week with a wonderful Easter surprise. A photographer named Christine Hochkeppel from our local newspaper, the Cape Cod Times, called and asked if she could do a photo story of me in my studio for the Easter Sunday issue. I was so pleased. And her request could not have come at a more perfect time. Since joining Facebook and starting my blog, new friends have been requesting photos of me with my hats, at work in my studio here at MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®. With the busy Derby and wedding season, I just haven’t had the time to get this project going as I have been creating hats.

Waking up this Easter morning to find Christine’s photo gallery on the Cape Cod Times online website felt like I was finding a giant Easter basket filled with surprises! Christine’s images genuinely reflect what working here in my tiny second floor home studio is really like when it’s a whirl of activity including cutting new hats, measuring and preparing trims, filling the hatboxes with layers of tissue and finally packing the hats for shipment to my customers. And in between the craziness there are the countless quiet hours spent with my chapeaux as I slowly fashion their trims and hand sew them together, one stitch at a time. This, to me, is the true essence of couture millinery.

Photo by Christine Hochkeppel, Cape Cod Times article 3-31-13
Photo by Christine Hochkeppel, Cape Cod Times article 3-31-13

Thank you, Christine, for the chance to share a bit of my busy world at MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS® beyond these four walls of fabric, buttons and tulle by creating vignettes that are colorful, animated, and at the same time thoughtful and personal. That it happened on Easter Sunday, this grand day of Easter bonnets and surprises, has just made it all the more special to me!

Photo by Christine Hochkeppel, Cape Cod Times article 3-31-13
Photo by Christine Hochkeppel, Cape Cod Times article 3-31-13

Please enjoy Christine’s photo gallery at the following link – Cape Cod Times Photo Gallery of MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®

Have a wonderful Easter!
Sally

14 Replies to “An Easter Surprise”

    1. Is’t it amazing, Sue? I jut couldn’ believe the timing of it all, and Christine was so amazing… The space here is most definitely quintessential artist space. Someday we hope for a much larger space – storage is really tough – but I am a collage/layerin kind of gal at heart, and I think my creative space will always reflect that somehow… ❤

      Like

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! You must be SO EXCITED!!!! You deserve every bit of it!!!! I cannot imagine the MANY hours you put in on each design you create….I am VERY happy for you!!!!!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Connie, the hours are incredible t times but when you love what you do, you don’t even think about the time as it flies by and you get swept up in the creative process. And it’s a humbling one, indeed. 🙂

      Like

  2. I feel like all of the ladies (including me!) who follow your posts and blogs were equally spoiled by the Easter bunny named Christine! 🙂

    Like

    1. Aw Celine, your support and responses and heart are just amazing. And I so agree, Christine was the Easter Bunny this year, it was such a perfect moment for it all to happen and she was the right person… or Bunny! I am just SO glad you enjoyed the behind-the-scenes images of my little world here at MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS! 🙂

      Like

  3. What a wonderful article on your hardwork! I am also looking forward to the start of opening day and racing season…so much so, I think you have inspired me to post some photos of my hats on my blog!

    Like

    1. What a wonderful article on your hardwork! I am also looking forward to the start of opening day and racing season…so much so, I think you have inspired me to post some photos of my hats on my blog!

      Kathy
      Thehorselesshousewife.blogspot.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

