Hats Off to my 2013 Derby Hat Ladies!

The Belmont Stakes is this weekend and up for grabs is the third jewel in the Triple Crown. Will Derby winner Orb redeem himself in this final leg of the Triple Crown series? Or will it be Preakness winner Oxbow? Or could it be the filly Unlimited Budget with Rosie Napravnik aboard?

Whichever horse and rider cross the finish line first at Belmont Park and receive the white carnations in the Belmont winner’s circle, we wish all of the athletes a safe trip.

As a little girl, my family and I watched all three Triple Crown races, ever watchful for a Triple Crown hero the likes of Secretariat, Affirmed or Seattle Slew. I just loved to see the horses prance to the post as I marveled at the sea of wide brim Derby hats that decorated the landscape with color and splendid elegance.

Kristy Deyeso in her "Kristy" Oaks hat by MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®
Kristy Deyeso in her “Kristy” Oaks hat by MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®
Susan with her grandson Ryan and her Custom Stefanie Chapeau by MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®
Susan with her grandson Ryan and her Custom Stefanie Chapeau by MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®

As a milliner I still pinch myself that the Derby style hats I create are a part of that sea of hats every year at the Triple Crown races. My “Derby girls”, as I call them, are for me as much a part of these historic horse racing events as the Twin Spires of Churchill Downs, the Black-eyed Susans at Pimlico, and “New York, New York”  being sung at Belmont Park. Each year I create classic MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS® Derby hat styles for my ladies to choose from while others prefer to work with me on a very special one-of-a-kind Derby hat created just for them.

To celebrate the close of yet another Triple Crown racing season, I thought it might be fun to share with you some of the Derby hats we sent to the Derby, Preakness and Belmont this year. A very special thank you to my Derby Hat Ladies for a fabulous season and for inspiring me to create some amazing new Derby chapeaux!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To see some of the Derby hat ladies from previous years, please visit the complete Kentucky Derby Hats Photo Gallery webpage at MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®.

Thank you all for visiting Hats and Horses, end enjoy the Belmont!

Sally

2 Replies to “Hats Off to my 2013 Derby Hat Ladies!”

Leave a Reply

