Dad

Happy Father’s Day to all you Dads out there!

We lost my Dad to cancer in 1982 when he was only 57 years old. Dad loved to garden and he loved animals. One of his earliest jobs was driving a milk truck, pulled by a horse back then, and I was always asking him to tell me the stories of those early morning deliveries. Dad was the one to let us know when he spotted the first robin in the winter snow, or when one of the kitties had just dug up his freshly planted seeds in the garden, dancing mischievously as only kitties do when they are enraptured by flying dirt. We always had cats and dogs growing up, and every summer Dad took us to the Brockton Fair where we’d sit on the hill and watch the horses race on the tiny oval track adjacent to the fairgrounds.

Dad was one of my greatest supporters when it came to anything creative that I did, but perhaps most especially my music and my writing. I hope that Dad can see me now, doing the creative work that I love with hats and giving back to the retired racehorses.

This is a photo of Dad with the four of us kids in the hammock during the summertime.

We miss you, Dad. Happy Father’s Day.

FB-DadandUs
My Dad, brothers John and Jim, sister Sue, and me. And my stuffed Dalmation puppy dog.

Wishing you all a Happy Father’s Day!

Sally

Author: hatsandhorses

Sally Faith Steinmann is the owner and designer of MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS Custom Millinery. A native of Cape Cod, Sally creates couture hats for the Kentucky Derby, Royal Ascot, Saratoga, weddings, teas, and garden parties. MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS sponsors "Hats Off to the Horses", an annual online Derby hat fundraiser for the retired racehorses of Old Friends Thoroughbred Retirement facility in KY.

4 thoughts on “Dad”

  1. What a wonderful dedication to your father on his “special” Father’s Day…..thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

