Cape Cod Daisies

Summer is in full swing here on Cape Cod. The weather is hot and humid and daisies are in full bloom. Being a daisy fan ever since I was a little girl, I could not be happier.

I find colorful daisies blossoming in my deck garden…
Blog-SallyGarden6

Blog-SallyGarden10-2013

Blog-SallyGarden9-2013

And growing wild along the edges of inlets and marshes.

Blog-Daisy-MillLanding4

Blog-Daisy-MillLanding3

Their little floral faces always look so happy as they dance and wave to the swirling Cape sea breezes.

I remember as a little girl being taught the game, “He loves me, He loves me not“. I filled mason jars with daisies so they could keep smiling at me from the bureau beside my bed. Deep down I believed that the daisy was the flower of my heart; nothing fancy, ever cheerful, faithful and hardy.

Blog-Daisy-MillLanding2

Over the years daisies have inspired my chapeau trims as well. Fashioned with delicate organza petals and silk or tulle centers, I frame them with layers of silk fabric “leaves” and organza ribbon “stems”.

Whether I call them Marguerites, poppies or peonies, these whimsical florals are indeed the beloved daisies of my childhood summers, dancing and smiling in my imagination and now adorning my chapeaux. They will always remind me of being a little girl here on Cape Cod.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you again for visiting me at Hats and Horses!

Sally

6 Replies to “Cape Cod Daisies”

  1. As a child, I would take shasta daisies and pull all the petals off except for a few in a V pattern and call them my ‘bees’ . I would chase my little brother and whack him with them. Ah, the good ‘ol days of free toys and made up games. =) Thanks for the memories!

    Like

    1. The tough thing, Emily, is finding the TIME to do all the creations I get inspired to. And tending al of the social media channels now, too, well, I’m no always 100% on top of it all! But I love it, I just want more hours in the day. Do you feel the same?

      Like

Leave a Reply

