Cape Cod Yard Sailing: Rockin’ with the Horses

As a little girl I loved rocking horses. I could spend hours rocking back and forth as my trusty steed and I would fly over jumps at the Grand National or race the Black Stallion along Cape Cod beaches.

Blog-SallyHorse7

Over the years my stable of rocking horses has grown. One of my very first blog posts, “A Horse for Christmas“, was a story about a very special rocking horse named Prancer that my husband Tom found for me at our local Christmas Stroll.

BLOG-SallyHorse30

A passionate yard saler, most of my rocking horses are the spoils of my yard sale adventures here on Cape Cod.

Blog-SallyHorse27

My rocking horse collection is by no means limited to just the ones that you can ride. Over the years and in some of the most unexpected places I have found rocking horses in all shapes, colors and sizes.

Blog-SallyHorse28

Blog-SallyHorse16C

Blog-SallyHorse6

Some of the horses I have found are made of wood; others are made of glass, metal or ceramic. Some have manes and tails fashioned out of yarn, twisted metal or roping; others are painted.

BLOG-SallyHorse30

Blog-SallyHorse24B

Blog-SallyHorse18C

The one thing my rocking horses all have in common is their uniqueness, for no two are quite alike. Some of them were designed for a particular purpose: music boxes,  Christmas tree ornaments and candle holders. Others are purely decorative.

Blog-SallyHorse22B

Blog-SallyHorse15

Blog-SallyHorse19

One by one, these magical rocking horses have become part of the stable here at MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®. Set atop a shelf, alongside my computer or nestled among hat trims, they inspire and delight me with their bright colors, gentle rocking and occasional whinny.

Blog-SallyHorse26

Blog-SallyHorse17C

Thank you once again for sharing my yard sale finds at Hats and Horses.

‘Til next time, Happy Sailing and rock on!
Sally

6 Replies to “Cape Cod Yard Sailing: Rockin’ with the Horses”

  1. What an incredible collection you have ! This is a great thing to collect. Why didn’t I ever think of it? I’d imagine you have the hallmark rocking horse christmas ornaments as well. I have one that evidently is now worth so money. Hard to imagine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

