Heat Waves, Hostas and Hats

New England is in the middle of a heat wave and even here on Cape Cod temperatures will reach into the 90’s. It’s one of those summer days where life seems to slow down to a crawl and a glass of iced tea with a wedge of lime is the perfect thirst quencher.

Despite the heat I did manage to get out for my early morning walk, camera in tow. Hostas are in full bloom right now and one particular variety is a personal favorite of mine which I soon discovered in a garden on the road to the beach.

Blog-Hosta2-RedRiverWalk

This is the same hosta variety that inspired the lavender organza rose curls I created for “Jamie,” a new hat design I introduced several years ago. The “Jamie” became an instant wedding classic. It has also become a popular choice for teas and garden parties.

Blog-JamieBR140-001F

Please enjoy a few images of the “Jamie” chapeau and the hostas that inspired her creation. I hope you won’t mind that I am including an unexpected furry friend I met along the way this morning. I think his mouth was full of sweet grass and clover yet he stopped mid-munch to say hello. He made me smile as I thought of how much I love the surprises of walking with my camera, never knowing what I’m going to see on the other side of the lens! I don’t envy his fur coat, though.

Blog-Hosta1-RRiverWalk

Blog-JamieBR140-001C

Blog-Bunny-RRiverWalk

Blog-SallyGarden32

Blog-JamieBR140-001D

Blog-SallyGarden33

Blog-Bunny2-RRiverWalk

Thank you once again for visiting Hats and Horses!

Sally

Author: hatsandhorses

Sally Faith Steinmann is the owner and designer of MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS Custom Millinery. A native of Cape Cod, Sally creates couture hats for the Kentucky Derby, Royal Ascot, Saratoga, weddings, teas, and garden parties. MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS sponsors "Hats Off to the Horses", an annual online Derby hat fundraiser for the retired racehorses of Old Friends Thoroughbred Retirement facility in KY.

6 thoughts on “Heat Waves, Hostas and Hats”

    1. Isn’t it a riot, Emily?? And when I snapped the pic, I had no idea what a funny little expression that little bunny had ’til I got to PS – LOVE those little surprises! 🙂 ANd thank you, for your kind words about the Jamie chapeau. One of my favs…

  1. Thanks for sharing. I’m always interested in what inspires an artist when they create their art. Was it a dream, a mistake, something they saw and it just popped into an idea? Obviously the latter for this beautiful hat!

    1. Thank you so much, isn’t it fascinating how each artist gets inspired by so many different things? And it’s not always in the moment. Sometimes, one inspiration can lead to a string of others, and somewhere down the road – voila! Something gets created, but it was never “out of the blue”, that’s for sure!

  2. Another beautiful creation from Sally…love the lavender colors … look so very soft and natural…our hostas are blooming, too. It is VERY dry here, hoping for rain this weekend…hope you and yours are all doing well. Connie Wood

    1. Aw… thank you, Connie, thank you always for such kind feedback. So DRY here, too, and such a strange phenomenon when the AIR if full of so much moisture you feel as if you could wring it! 😉

Leave a Reply

