Tulips in the Snow

Today is the one year anniversary of “Hats and Horses”! Just a year ago I started this blog to share my passion for hats and horses. Over the past year you have joined me in my Cape Cod studio as I created my one of a kind hats for “Hats Off to the Horses”, the auction series for the retired racehorses of Old Friends in Kentucky, along with Derby hats, wedding hats and holiday hats. It’s been fun sharing the many things that inspire my work including the birds and flowers here on Cape Cod along with the stories of special friends, family and childhood memories.

In my first blog post one year ago I shared the story of how my husband’s surprise Christmas gift of a magical rocking horse named Prancer helped make my dream for a horse come true.

BLOG-PrancerHorse3

Now I am delighted to tell you that I was surprised with yet another horse for Christmas this year.

Just before Thanksgiving, my husband and I were browsing at a local thrift and we saw the most unusual wooden rocking horse. Not only was it beautifully handcrafted but it was HUGE! We couldn’t believe that no one was interested in it. However, short of building an outside stall below our deck for this Trojan-sized horse, we decided we couldn’t possibly squeeze him into our space at home.

Fortunately, the horse eventually sold and our rescue mission was no longer necessary.

In the days before Christmas, we made more stops at local thrifts. One in particular was always a great source for tree ornaments. And this was where Tom found my new rocking horse.

Blog-1RockingHorse2014-7

Handcrafted and painted with a blanket of bright yellow tulips and hearts, this miniature horse was signed by an artist named Jack from Springfield, Vermont. Tulips, especially yellow ones, are one of my favorite flowers. And they were highlighted with red, one of my very favorite colors.

Blog-3RockingHorse2014-4

Clearly this horse was special, created with great care and loved by someone who has a gift with the paint brush and a flair for the whimsical.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As we left the shop with the new treasure, it began to snow. I looked down at the smiling miniature horse in my arms, the perfect size for our home and our lives. This colorful, whimsical horse was going to inspire me over the winter as I created the new hats for spring.

Tulips would be her name. My tulips in the snow.

Blog-1RockingHorse2014-7

Thank you all for allowing me to share this blog with you for the past year. Writing it has been a joy, an incredible learning experience and a source of great inspiration. I am already looking forward to our second year and the adventures that lie ahead!

Until next time…

Sally

2 Replies to “Tulips in the Snow”

  1. What a sweet little rocking horse! ❤ Tulips are my favourite flowers. Red, yellow, antique rose, pink… I'll take them in all colours!

    I've enjoyed following your blog this past year, Sally, and am very happy that I was able to read your latest one before ultimately leaving Facebook at the end of the month.

    Thank you for sharing a part of yourself through these posts with all who love your beautiful designs!

    Best wishes,
    Céline 🙂

    Like

    1. Isn’t she something, Celine? And I was so thrilled to see that the artist had signed his name on the underside of the rocker, making it all the more special and personal. I o believe tulips may be my favorite flower as well, there is just something so outreaching and HAPPY about them.

      Thank you for always – and in all ways – being such a dear friend and supporter to me throughout my time here blogging and on Facebook. I hope you’ll stay in touch. Your comments are so thoughtful and insightful and I cherish every one!

      Happy New Year, Celine, and be well,
      Sally 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

