MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS® Derby Hat Countdown – 91 of 101

Welcome to Day 11 in our Derby Hat Countdown featuring 101 Derby hats created by MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®!

Today I have a very special fascinator hat design I want to share with you. Her name is “Trisha’s Zophie” and she can be found in Salon 4 of the Derby Hat Collection at maggiemae.com…

Blog-DerbyHatCountdownPoster-91Hats

Custom millinery is my specialty and I love working with customers who have a creative vision. A wonderful woman named Trisha found me this past fall. Her son was getting married in October and she wondered if my “Zophie” fascinator style could be customized to complement a green dress she had found and absolutely loved.

Blog-ZophieDer89-001A

Trisha sent me a swatch of the green dress fabric as well as a photo of a woodland scene, “Spring Bluebells in England,” showing a forest floor covered in a lovely carpet of bold purple flowers with bright green leaves. Trisha said that these were the wedding colors that she would like incorporated into the trimmings.

To begin, I found the perfect green print brocade to match the dress for the foundation of the hat. To capture the colors in Trisha’s photo, I found a plummy purple organza and a shantung silk which I mixed for the rose curl centerpiece. Next I found shantung silk, organza and taffeta in bright spring greens for the variegated leaves.  Purple French ribbons, clear buttons, veiling and tulle provided the finishing touches for a chapeau inspired by English bluebells and Trisha’s creative vision. I was so pleased with the finished design that I decided to add her to my 2014 Derby Hat Collection!

Blog-DerbyHatCTDown-TrishasZophieDer89-002D

For more views of the Trisha’s Zophie chapeau shown above, please visit the Trisha’s Zophie webpage.

And please visit the KY Derby Hat Collection where new Derby hats have just been added to all four Derby hat salons!

Thank you for visiting us here at Hats and Horses for Hat 91 of our Derby Hat Countdown.

Only 90 Derby chapeaux to go ’til the bugle blows and the fun begins at Churchill Downs!

Sally

Leave a Reply

