MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS® Derby Hat Countdown – 74 of 101

The Derby Hat Countdown continues featuring 101 Derby hats created by MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®!

Our hat for today is the wide brim “Candy” chapeau that is found in Salon 2 of the Derby Hat Collection at maggiemae.com.

Blog-DerbyHatCountdownPoster-74Hats

The Candy was a hat design that came about purely by chance. A couple of years ago I was selecting my fabrics for the new Kentucky Derby Hat Collection. I lined the fabric bolts up side by side in my studio and I LOVED the way the hot pink, orange and rose fabrics looked together!

I decided to create a hat using these colors. I fashioned the base of the hat out of white dupioni silk. I then created a large Marguerite fleur out of two shades of pink organza and one shade of soft peach for the petals with hot pink chiffon for the rose curl center.

Blog-CandyDer149-001J

I surrounded the crown of the hat with alternating swirls of hot pink, tangerine and rose tulle. For the finishing touches I added three hot pink organza “feathers” and a matching button.

Blog-CandyDer149-001K

The result was a color confection that reminded me of cotton candy, perfect for a garden party, wedding and of course the Derby!

Blog-CandyDer149-001B

For more views of the Candy chapeau shown above, please visit the Candy hat webpage.

Please visit our KY Derby Hat Collection for more Derby hat ideas!

Thank you for visiting us here at Hats and Horses for Hat 74 of our Derby Hat Countdown.

Just 73 Derby chapeaux and 73 days to go ’til the Run for the Roses!

Sally

Leave a Reply

