MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS® Derby Hat Countdown – 49 of 101

The Derby Hat Countdown continues featuring 101 Derby hats created by MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®!

Today we are featuring Hat #49, the “Liza”, a wide brim Derby chapeau that is found in Derby Hat Salon 1 at maggiemae.com.

Blog-DerbyHatCountdownPoster-49Hats

As many of you know, I am partial to the “Liza” chapeau style. There is just something about the Liza that makes it special, including the way the brim so beautifully frames the face. I also love the color turquoise and several years ago I decided that I would create a Liza in black silk and trim her in my beloved turquoise.

I began by creating a black dupioni silk “Liza” style hat foundation. I next fashioned a large rose curl out of alternating layers of two slightly different shades of turquoise organza. I crafted a medley of turquoise taffeta leaves and set them behind the rose.

Blog-LizaDer13-096ACloseup

At about the same time I designed this Liza, I came up with a new trim: silk organza “feathers”. I am an avid bird watcher and I created a feather-shaped trim out of silk organza out of respect to these beautiful winged creatures.

For the new Liza I handcrafted and added five black silk organza “feathers”, the perfect accent to contrast with the turquoise rose curl. I added a turquoise taffeta sash for around the crown and Liza was good to go for her first Derby adventure!

Blog-LizaDer13-096B

For more views of the “Liza” hat design shown above, please visit the Liza Der13-096 webpage at maggiemae.com.

And don’t forget to visit our KY Derby Hat Collection offering four new Derby hat salons this year. Everything from fascinators to extra wide brims!

Thank you for visiting us here at Hats and Horses for Hat 49 of our Derby Hat Countdown.

Just 48 Derby chapeaux and 48 days to go ’til the 140th Kentucky Derby!

Sally

Leave a Reply

