MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS® Derby Hat Countdown – 42 of 101

The Derby Hat Countdown continues featuring 101 Derby hats created by MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®!

Today we are featuring Hat #42, the “Vivy”, a wide brim Derby hat design that is found in Derby Hat Salon 1 at maggiemae.com.

Blog-DerbyHatCountdownPoster-42Hats

I love the color combination of black and turquoise almost as much as I love tulle. Consequently several years ago I decided to create a stunning new hat for the Derby that incorporated these two colors as well as tulle.

I began with a black dupioni silk hat foundation that measured close to 18″ at the brim. I fashioned a single large rose curl out of alternating layers of turquoise shantung and turquoise organza and added matching shantung leaves to frame the rose.

Blog-VivyDer155-001F

For a bit of added dimension and drama I created several turquoise organza “feathers” to accent the rose and spill over the brim edge.

Blog-VivyDer155-001I

Then came the TULLE! I layered yards and yards of turquoise tulle, gathering it in the back of the hat in the shape of a loosely curled rose. She was everything I had hoped she would be.  I named her the “Vivy” chapeau and she was a hit right from the start. Aside from the Derby, she has also made quite the splash at tea parties, garden parties and Royal Ascot!

Blog-VivyDer155-001J

For more views of the “Vivy” hat design shown above, please visit the Vivy Der155-001 webpage at maggiemae.com.

And don’t forget to visit our KY Derby Hat Collection offering four new Derby hat salons this year. Everything from fascinators to extra wide brims!

Thank you for visiting us here at Hats and Horses for Hat 42 of our Derby Hat Countdown.

Just 41 Derby chapeaux and 41 days to go ’til the 140th Kentucky Derby!

Sally

5 Replies to “MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS® Derby Hat Countdown – 42 of 101”

  1. Reblogged this on My Kentucky Living and commented:
    For those of you who are starting to plan your hat and clothing for the Kentucky Derby or for a Derby party…here is a post from Maggie Mae Designs. If you like this you can follow their countdown of hats. Each day will feature a different hat design.

    Dressing requires that the hat and dress/suit/etc. go together. Yes, as in match! If you are going to have a custom hat made…which can be done…then you would purchase the outfit first and take it with you to the designer. (For many years there was a hat designer who would set up shop in one of the Louisville malls to take orders and match colors, etc.) If you purchase a ready made hat, then you just shop your closet or favorite place to co-ordinate your colors. I noticed when I was in Lexington a few weeks ago that Macy’s already had quite a lovely selection of hats. Hats can range in price from zero for a borrowed hat to a few hundred dollars for the extra special custom made “chapeau.” Hats at the Ky Derby range from georgeous to crazy. I think it depends on whether you are in the outfield or in the stands. Dress according to your seating status would be my suggestion. I have never been to Millionaire’s Row…but I can only imagine.

    Ladies, think about your feet also. I see those with high heels at the Derby, but my suggestion is that you take a pair of flats with you! Just my suggestion. 🙂

    Men do not escape the pressure to look appropriate either! And…some do sport hats. Any good Louisville men’s store could recommend and have you looking great! Or look at online pics of former Derby goers. Again…plan according to your seating area.

    This is just a quick post to get you to thinking about the upcoming 140th Kentucky Derby. There will be more in upcoming weeks. I will give you some menu suggestions, as well as links to other Derby happenings. Let me know if YOU are planning a Derby party…whether it is in Georgia, Alabama, or Kentucky. I would love to hear about your traditions.
    Thanks for stopping by,
    Sheila

    Like

Leave a Reply

