Slow Down, You’re Movin’ Too Fast

Ever have one of those weeks where no matter how hard you try to get things done faster, you just keep on getting further and further behind?

It was Saturday evening and I really needed a walk. I needed to clear my head. I needed to figure out how to organize my Sunday. Get a head start on the hatmaking work week ahead.

But this Saturday night on Cape Cod, there wasn’t a single parking spot to be had.

Blog-ForestBeach30Sunday morning dawned and I decided to brave the crowds once again. I headed for Forest Beach and there was plenty of parking.

I’ll just stay for a minute, soak up some of the beauty, and get back to work, I thought.Blog-ForestBeach31Just then, a crow called.

And called.

I swore he was talking to me, as he caw caw cawed himself silly.

Blog-ForestBeach32I pressed on feeling pressed for time.

And as I was hurrying up the first hill I saw this little green man with a bright red flag. In fact I nearly feel over him in my rush!

Blog-ForestBeach33I took a deep breath. Okay. It’s Sunday. Maybe it would do me some good to slow down. Like the man says. Still, I couldn’t for the life of me see how it would help me get a better handle on the work week ahead.

A tiny sparrow along the marsh cocked his head toward me. He didn’t seem to be in any hurry to go anywhere at all.

Blog-ForestBeach34

It was so peaceful along the marsh. And as I pointed my lens I could literally feel my shoulders drop as I began to relax and take in the beauty…

I decided to just keep following the road in front of me. So I’d be a few minutes later getting back to my schedule, what harm could that do?

Blog-ForestBeachLoop3I made it to Mill Landing and heard a kingfisher scolding me.

They can be like that.

Blog-MillLanding55 The buoy in the channel seemed to be telling me to just float…

Blog-MillLanding56 The cormorant in the far distance put in his two cents telling me, “Hang loose, baby, let your wings dry.”

Blog-MillLanding57A tiny sparrow on a fence caught my eye. He seemed to be looking at something across the road.

Blog-MillLanding58And there he was, a gorgeous box turtle, crossing the road but movin’ slow…


I was beginning to feel like everyone was ganging up on me. Maybe it really was time to stop, slow down and smell the flowers.

Or the rosehips.

Blog-MillLanding61I was surprised as I headed for home that I felt refreshed, kind of energized by it all.

And I smiled to myself as I thought about all the beauty – and new friends – I would have missed if I had not listened to that crow.

Or the green man.

Or the sparrow in the marsh, the cormorant or the turtle…

Blog-MillLanding62I hope you’ve enjoyed your visit here to Hats and Horses.

‘Til next time!

Sally

 

Author: hatsandhorses

Sally Faith Steinmann is the owner and designer of MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS Custom Millinery. A native of Cape Cod, Sally creates couture hats for the Kentucky Derby, Royal Ascot, Saratoga, weddings, teas, and garden parties. MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS sponsors "Hats Off to the Horses", an annual online Derby hat fundraiser for the retired racehorses of Old Friends Thoroughbred Retirement facility in KY.

1 thought on “Slow Down, You’re Movin’ Too Fast”

  1. reading this makes me so thankful that i live immersed in the quiet “slow down” off-the-grid world. it’s amazing how a timeout in nature revives a weary spirit – or relaxes us if we are wound a bit too tight.

    i’m so glad that the crow nudged you into a great detour, and i was even more relaxed as i looked over your shoulder!

    i am enjoying a quick respite at a little hostal where we have decent internet – yay! sigh, but it’s late and i need to get some sleep soon. so glad that i had time to detour in your direction!

    siempre,
    lisa/z

Leave a Reply

