Colorful Company

As a fabric artist the colors that I see in my world inspire the hats that I create. Since our recent nor’easters here on the Cape we have lost most of our leaves and I’ve been experiencing intense “color withdrawal”.

That is until I headed to Chatham the other day where I found not only some pretty colorful landscapes but some colorful characters as well…
Blog-ChathamLight1From Chatham Light to the Fish Pier…
Blog-ChathamFishPier6There were seagulls everywhere. Across the channel on the mud flats, soaking in the last rays of the day.
Blog-ChathamFishPier4In the air above me a mischievous gull suddenly flew up and beckoned me to the outlook above the fishing boats.
Blog-ChathamFishPier2There I looked out and found the seals! My “swallows of the sea”, delighting as they do in the sheer joy of being…
Blog-ChathamFishPier3Blog-ChathamFishPier5
Blog-ChathamFishPier7How glorious it must be to be one of them, floating, nose to the sky, soaking in color and light and smell…
Blog-ChathamFishPier8
Blog-ChathamFishPier10And as I headed back to the studio I felt more ready than ever to create.

Inspired by the glorious color I had seen and perhaps even more by the colorful company I had been blessed to keep.

‘Til next time we meet!

Sally

Author: hatsandhorses

Sally Faith Steinmann is the owner and designer of MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS Custom Millinery. A native of Cape Cod, Sally creates couture hats for the Kentucky Derby, Royal Ascot, Saratoga, weddings, teas, and garden parties. MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS sponsors "Hats Off to the Horses", an annual online Derby hat fundraiser for the retired racehorses of Old Friends Thoroughbred Retirement facility in KY.

Leave a Reply

