MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS® Derby Hat Countdown – 56 of 101

The Derby Hat Countdown continues featuring 101 Derby hats created by MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS®!

Today we are featuring Hat #56, the “Laura”, a wide brim hat design that is found in Derby Hat Salon 2 at maggiemae.com.

Blog-DerbyHatCountdownPoster-2015-56Hats-Web.Lg

I love roses! I started creating hand rolled rose curls for my hats when I began my business and over the years they have become one of my signature trims. Several years ago I began trimming some of my Liza and Sallita hat styles with one dozen rose curls, calling them the “Dozen Roses” hats.

Blog-LizaDER13-019LargeRecently I wanted to try a new flat brim style Derby hat for my “Dozen Roses” all in red to celebrate the traditional red roses of the Kentucky Derby.

I began with a wide, flat brim that I fashioned out of a bold red dupioni silk.

Blog-LauraDer168-001BI created one dozen delicate red silk organza rose curls and set them aside.

Blog-LauraDer168-001GNext I took red taffeta and fashioned a simple sash to encircle the crown of the hat. To give the hat a distinctive look I took the same red taffeta, fashioned a large double bow and settled it onto the very back of the hat.

Blog-LauraDer168-001KI took my dozen red roses and spread them around the entire brim, pairing them with red taffeta leaves and red tulle sprays for a wispy accent.

Blog-LauraDer168-001EBlog-LauraDer168-001JI named the hat “Laura” after one of my favorite movies. And as I stepped back to take a look at the new design I realized that the winning horse on Derby Day was not going to be the only one covered in roses. The new “Dozen Roses” Laura chapeau was ready to make her debut at the Kentucky Derby inspired by one of my very favorite Derby traditions!

Blog-LauraDer168-001DFor more views of the “Laura” hat design shown above, please visit the Laura Der168-001 webpage at maggiemae.com.

And don’t forget to visit our Derby Hat Collection offering four new Derby hat salons this year featuring Big Brims, Extra Wide Brims, Flappers/Medium Brims, Fascinators, Cocktail Hats and Cloches.

Thank you for visiting us here at Hats and Horses for Hat #56 in our Derby Hat Countdown.

Just 55 Derby chapeaux and 55 days to go ’til the 141st Kentucky Derby!

Your Derby Trivia Question for today – In 2004, Smarty Jones won both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness. Name the 36-1 longshot who beat him in the Belmont and ended this crowd favorite’s bid for the Triple Crown.

The answer can be found at the following link – Derby Hats.

‘Til next time, on to the Derby!

Sally

Author: hatsandhorses

Sally Faith Steinmann is the owner and designer of MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS Custom Millinery. A native of Cape Cod, Sally creates couture hats for the Kentucky Derby, Royal Ascot, Saratoga, weddings, teas, and garden parties. MAGGIE MAE DESIGNS sponsors "Hats Off to the Horses", an annual online Derby hat fundraiser for the retired racehorses of Old Friends Thoroughbred Retirement facility in KY.

Leave a Reply

