Reflections on a Crown – Part I

It was a beautiful June day in the Big Apple and American Pharoah was poised in the starting gate at the Belmont Stakes, set to begin the final leg of the Triple Crown.

For a moment, we all held our breath; no horse had captured the elusive ‘Crown since Affirmed did it in 1978. Was the impossible dream possible?

And moments later as American Pharoah neared the finish line you could hear the collective roar of an entire nation as the 37-year-long drought came to an end and he became the 12th Triple Crown winner in American horse racing history!

Blog-AmericanPharoah-LydiaWilliams2In the days that have passed since the race I have had a chance to think about the enormity of what American Pharoah and his team accomplished that day at Belmont Park.

As amazing as it was, crossing the finish line first wasn’t American Pharoah’s only achievement. Long before he had won the big race, this stunning bay colt with the short tail and long, buoyant stride had already won our hearts.

Blog-AmericanPharoah-LydiaWilliams3-FramedThroughout the Triple Crown season, on social media and in countless interviews, the Zayat family owners and trainer Bob Baffert had continuously invited us in to get to know their once in a lifetime racehorse.

Blog-AmericanPharoah-ChurchillDownsMay2015-LauraBattles15-FramedBlog-AmericanPharoah-ChurchillDownsMay2015-LauraBattles24-FramedWe became enamored with this sweet colt’s kindness and incredible poise.

Blog-AmericanPharoah-ChurchillDownsMay2015-LauraBattles5-FramedAnd somewhere along the way, American Pharoah became our horse, America’s horse.

Like the great Seabiscuit before him, he was a horse that we had come to care about. We were pulling for him to win and make the dream of a Triple Crown come true.

Blog-AmericanPharoah-ChurchillDownsMay2015-LauraBattles23-FramedI am one of those people that was drawn to American Pharoah, and I’d like to share my very special connection with his Triple Crown journey.

Blog-AmericanPharoah-ChurchillDownsMay2015-LauraBattles28-FramedI grew up in a family where we watched the Triple Crown races every spring. I’ve cheered on Triple Crown hopefuls all the way from Majestic Prince to California Chrome.

I have also been sending hats to the Triple Crown races ever since I started my couture millinery business in 1998 and have had the thrill of seeing my hats make it to the winner’s circle.

But it has always been my dream that someday one of my hats would be there at Belmont Park to see some special horse finally win that Triple Crown.

In March this year I received an email from a woman named Leigh McKathan. Leigh was in love with one of my cocktail hats, the “Trisha’s Zophie”, which she wanted to wear at the Derby.

Blog-TrishasZophieDer89-002E-Web.Lg Leigh’s husband, JB McKathan, Jr., and his brother Kevin, own and operate the McKathan Brothers Training Center near Ocala, Florida, and two of the horses they had trained as 2-year-olds were heading to the Derby.

One of the horses was Mr. Z. The other horse was American Pharoah.

Blog-AmericanPharoah-ChurchillDownsMay2015-LauraBattles20-FramedWith great anticipation I created Leigh’s hat for the first Saturday in May.

On Derby Day, Leigh sent me photos of her and JB at Churchill Downs as they nervously awaited the call to the post. Leigh looked stunning in her “Trisha’s Zophie”, so perfectly coordinated with her dress, handbag and shoes!

Blog-LeighMcKathan1-Derby2015-Framed

Much to my delight, I found out later that my little chapeau even took part in the traditional Derby walkover prior to the race. I still get goosebumps when I think about being part of this historic parade and I am so grateful to Leigh for capturing the moment and sharing it with me.

Blog-AmericanPharoah8-2015DerbyWalkover-LeighMcKathan-FramedBlog-AmericanPharoah6-2015DerbyWalkover-LeighMcKathan-FramedAmerican Pharoah’s victory in the first jewel of the Triple Crown was not an easy one. Overcoming a tough post position and the Derby stampede at the start of the race, the son of Pioneer of the Nile had to dig deep as jockey Victor Espinoza urged him on.

At the top of the stretch, Pharoah and Espinoza swung wide but somehow, together, they finally managed to pull away from Dortmund and then shake free a surprisingly game Firing Line to win the day.

In a message sent to me from her iPhone Leigh wrote just two words, “Lucky hat!” I couldn’t stop smiling as I thought of my chapeau, there in the winner’s circle as American Pharoah received his blanket of roses to the cheers of the crowd.

Blog-AmericanPharoah-2015DerbyWinnersCircle2-LeighMcKathan-FramedBlog-AmericanPharoah-2015DerbyWinnersCircle-LeighMcKathan-FramedIt was so wonderful to see Leigh’s smile as she and her family beamed in the winner’s circle! And there was my hat, making me feel like I was right there with them…

Blog-LeighMcKathan6-PendArmistead-Derby2015Two days later I received an email from Leigh. American Pharoah was heading to the second jewel of the Triple Crown, the Preakness, and she asked if I would I have time to create another hat for her. She wanted the “Darby” in bold yellow and red silks.

Blog-DarbyDer102-001AWeb.Lg With only a few days to pull it off, I got out the rolls of fabric and made the preliminary cuts for the “Darby” design so that I would be good to go as soon as Leigh’s payment arrived.

Blog-Darby-HatProcess1Unfortunately it was not to be. Leigh wrote to let me know that she and JB would not be able to attend the Preakness.

I looked over at the already-cut pieces of yellow dupioni silk sitting on my cutting table, all pinned and ready to go.

Perhaps my “Darby” was meant for another race?

Please visit me again soon for Part 2 of “Reflections on a Crown”!

Sally

This is Part I in a 3-part series

To view the other parts of “Reflections on a Crown” – Part II ; Part III

One Reply to “Reflections on a Crown – Part I”

Leave a Reply

